Working from home – One of those days!

Oh dear!

My partner’s car has gone in for a service today and so he is consequently working from home. Now to most people ‘working from home’ means having a lie-in, a leisurely breakfast, a cursory check of work emails, a couple of telephone calls and maybe filling in a few fields on an excel spreadsheet, essentially just doing enough that should anyone ask you can actually prove you have done something. However, working from home to my partner means just that because he’s not like me, he is a conscientious soul.

So now my day is going to be absolutely thrown into total disarray.

I like to get up, have my first breakfast of fruit, tidy the kitchen, watch the news, write a few things all while having the TV on for background noise. I can’t work in absolute silence – it is too noisy!! I have a cup of tea with second breakfast, write some more and then perhaps go to the gym. A well-oiled comfortable routine.

My partner returns from dropping off the car at the garage, fires up the computer and then begins to get into a froth about cables he needs to attach God knows what to the computer. ‘It’s going to be one of those days.’ He mutters. Yes, I think, it bloody well is because you’ve already turned down the TV and totally disrupted my morning routine and it’s only 9.00am!

We are now sitting in total silence, with only the mumblings of Victoria Derbyshire in the background and the sound of tap tap tapping on our respective keyboards (at this moment lip-reading would be a good talent to have) like we’ve had a major domestic and are ignoring each other.
He’s right though, it is going to be one of those days and a long one at that!!!

Hot Flush Diaries

  

Leave a comment